frosty fest

Frosty Fest has arrived for Rocket League

Psyonix is one of those amazing companies that always seems to just keep giving. Every festive season we get new cosmetics, more battle-cars and a whole bunch of updates. This festive season there are a whole bunch of new jolly items to get everyone into the holiday spirit!

For Halloween, they put together a whole bunch of spooky themed cosmetics which you could earn through the use of candy corn, a virtual currency that dropped after completed games. The best part was that they didn’t make it unobtainable. Most of the items could be bought after just 2 or 3 games, with the rarer items only taking about 5-8, depending on how lucky you were with the drops. 8 games though for a rare item is still really viable, especially when each game is only 4 minutes. This system was met with a pretty good response by the community, and has now been brought into the Frosty Fest winter event. Here are all of the details from the Rocket League blog:

Starting December 11 at 5pm PST (8pm EST, 2am CET on December 12), Frosty Fest is based on the same kind of in-game Event you experienced previously with Haunted Hallows back in October. As you’d expect, the Event format is the same as Haunted Hallows, with ‘Snowflakes’ currency replacing the Candy Corn you earned with every completed Online Match. You can redeem Snowflakes to purchase Event items, Decryptors, or the brand new ‘Frosty Fest’ Event Crate!

You can grab the ‘Frosty Fest’ Event Crate three different ways, including as a drop after some Online Matches or via unlock with the Snowflakes you earn. If you’re looking for a more immediate approach, you’ll be able to purchase the Crate directly through the Rocket League client like you would Keys or Premium DLC Battle-Cars.

Finally, we’ve heard your feedback after the conclusion of our Haunted Hallows Event last month, and we’re making some changes based on that feedback, including how many Decryptors can be obtained — stay tuned! So get the egg nog and nutmeg ready, don your best (worst?) holiday sweater, and we’ll see you in the Snowy Arenas of Mannfield, DFH and Utopia!

  • Start Time: Monday, December 11, 5pm PST (8pm EST, 2am CET on December 12)

  • End Time: Tuesday, January 2, 10am PST (1pm EST, 7pm CET)

 

I hope to see you on the pitch, grabbing those snowflakes and maybe pulling off some cool stunts to show your friends. If you haven’t had the chance to play Rocket League yet or on the fence, the game is growing rapidly since we got our own South African servers recently and registrations are opening on the 15th of December for the second qualifier of the MGMS Rocket League tournament, the biggest Rocket League event in SA history! There has never been a better time to jump in a battle car!

Post Author: Michael Oerder

Michael Oerder
Assassin, Warrior, High Mage, lord of all he surveys and pathological liar. Grew up playing arcade games on my dad’s work laptop with my older brother, and always being relegated to player 2. Spent most of my childhood sorting through my Pokémon cards and playing RPGs, although I feel cheated because I still have never played any Legend of Zelda games. Only recently got an internet line able to play online games, and the world hasn’t seen more than my avatar since. Also I try get some work done at university where I am doing my masters in medicinal chemistry.